Icons of the Barossa
A day in the Barossa
The St Hugo experience starts as soon you enter the driveway, surrounded by one of only a few plantations of cork trees in Australia. Planted over 50 years ago by Colin Gramp (son of Hugo Gramp) they are a fitting welcome to St Hugo.
Enjoy guided tastings, visits to the vineyard and bespoke experiences, along with specially crafted wine flights in The Lounge and superb regional cuisine in The Restaurant. Visitors can experience the enterprising spirit of Hugo Gramp in the beautifully restored ironstone building, featuring a luxurious wine-tasting lounge, premium-dining restaurant overlooking the vineyards and a relaxing heritage courtyard.
The St Hugo story begins in 1895, when Louis Hugo Gramp was born. Hugo’s grandfather, Johann Gramp, one of the wine pioneers of the Barossa wine region, planted his first vines in 1847 and founded the wine business that would be later called G Gramp & Sons that Hugo would eventually lead. In 1983, Hugo Gramp’s legacy was honoured with the release of the first wine named ‘St Hugo’. The addition of the title ‘St’ was inspired by the European tradition of naming vineyards after saints in order to bestow good fortune upon them.
The Barossa is famous for its food and wine traditions, hospitality and proud European heritage.
Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz, Grenache, Mataro, Riesling, Semillon
2141 Barossa Valley Way, Rowland Flat 5352
Drive the northern expressway out of Adelaide; turn off on to Gormesal Road which leads to the Barossa Valley Way and the Home of St Hugo
10.30am - 4.30pm daily (Lunch Thu-Mon 12pm-2.30pm).
Closed Good Friday, Christmas Eve & Day and New Year’s Day.
1300 162 992